USA Survival, LLC


This is the start of a new blog site for those interested in survival and emergency preparedness.  Over the course of the last few years there has been a rash of incidents that have left the average person in need of survival skills and equipment to overcome natural and man-made disasters.

We have all seen the after effects of hurricanes (Katrina), tornadoes, tsunamis, and other instances that has left ordinary folks either helpless or in need of help. That help or need ranges from food, shelter, and water…the basic needs one must have to survive. Too often we do not think some disaster will hit us until it is too late. And at those times we are left with the “what to do” mentality that is injected with stress and worry.

What is it that we need to overcome these situations? Being in the military for over 20 years has given me the mentality to “prepare for the worse and hope for the best” by looking at situations before they manifest. In the simplest form, we use the acronym P.A.C.E. for planning. This stands for the levels of planning: Primary, Alternate, Contingency, and Emergency. Always have a backup plan for a plan. That way if your plan goes wrong, you have already planned for a backup. Now, I know that everyone has served in the military and may say that this is too much to think about, but in reality you do this everyday without thinking about it.

I have personally built survival kits that I have used both stateside and overseas in different levels…what is on your back, what is on your kit, and lastly what is on your body. This allows for having some sort of survival item with you on three different levels. To equate this to normal life I would say what do you have in the house, in your car, and what can you carry. You can break this down in your own way according to how you view the levels of survival fo your own needs.

In this blog I am going to share my thoughts and welcome input from others that have more experience. The one thing I’ve learned over the years is that there is more than one way of doing things and never believe that you have all the answers.  I’ve also started my website that carries various survival and emergency supplies that I personally, as well as my partner advocate.  I encourage you to visit us at www.usa-survival.com and if you see something you like, let me know.

As I add to this site I will break down the different areas of survival that is suitable for the average person to learn and gather in case of emergency. Certain skills may be out of the scope of some people (unless you are a surgeon you are not going to operate on someone to remove a bullet), but you can learn to pack a wound, bandage it, and move a casualty to a better suited environment that can provide the added care necessary with emergency medicine.

For now, I am going to leave this as is and continue on with other topics, but I encourage anyone to add or send any ideas or thoughts to us at usasurvival@gmail.com.

Leave a comment